Hockey World League ’17- India and Pakistan in Same Pool


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The two rivalries India and Pakistan in the same pool for Hockey World League(HWL) semi-finals 2017

The Asian champions India has collaborated along with the arch-rivals Pakistan in the same pool in the men’s Hockey World League (HWL) for the Semi-Final 2017 to be held here. The HWL Semi-Final, which is the qualifying event for the 2018 World Cup, would hold from June 15 to 25 June at Lee Valley’s Hockey and the Tennis Centre in Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, and will also feature 10 of the world’s best men’s hockey teams.

The six teams have already been received the confirmation so far for this showcase event, also including the hosts England, Rio Olympic champions Argentina, reigning European champions Netherlands, India, Korea, and Pakistan.

The other four teams will also be qualifying for the Hockey World League Round 2 events that would be taking place between January and April next year. The HWL Semi-Final, June 18 has been dubbed as the ‘Super Sunday’ because the first game of the day features the great rivals and i.e. India vs. Pakistan.

Among the 11 Olympic titles this has historically been one of the most ferocious rivalries in the game and it shows no sign of letting up. India had the edge at the 2016 Asian Champions Trophy and Pakistan will be out for avenge, what will be an action-packed encounter. Also following that up will be hosts England taking on Olympic Champions Argentina.

Besides the rebel team of Pakistan, the other confirmed team in India’s pool – Pool B – is Netherlands. There is a lot is at stake for teams which are participating in these Hockey World League Semi-Finals.

Whilst vital FIH Hero World Ranking points will be awarded that will be depending on the final standings, the top teams from each of the Semi-Final will qualify for the 2018 Hockey World Cups in India (men) and England (women) in addition to the Hockey World League, Finals would be taking place in India (men) and New Zealand (women) later in 2017.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.