DUSU Election Results 2017: NSUI Wins Delhi University Top Posts


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

DUSU Election Results 2017: A total of 43% young voter turnout was recorded in the polls held on Tuesday in DUSU. According to the professors who kept the tracking records of the elections, far flung colleges recorded a poor voting percentage, whereas the on-campus colleges had a healthy voter turnout.

The NSUI and the ABVP, student wings of the Congress and the RSS respectively, shared honours in the elections to the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU). While the NSUI won the President and Vice-President posts, the ABVP grabbed the Leading Secretary and the Joint Secretary posts. The results are seen as a setback for the ABVP which had swept all four posts in the elections held last year.

NSUI’s candidate Rocky Tuseed has won the President post with 16,299 votes and Kunal Sehrawat has grabbed the position of Vice-President with 16,431 votes. ABVP’s Mahamedha with 17,156 votes grabbed the post of Secretary and Uma Shankar with 16,691 votes won the position of Joint-Secretary.

ABVP’s Rajat and Paarth who were contending for the posts of President and Vice President won 14,709 votes and 16,256 votes. NSUI’s secretarial post candidate Minakshi won 14,532 votes and joint secretarial candidate Avinash won 16,349 votes.

Started in 1954, students from 50 of 77 Delhi University colleges vote to elect office bearers to the positions of president, vice-president, secretary and joint secretary.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.