First Hindu To Win In Pakistan Election


Mahesh Kumar Malani of the Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) has become the first Hindu candidate to win a National Assembly seat, 16 years after non-Muslims got the right to vote and contest on general seats in the country.
Malani contested and won the National Assembly (NA-222) Tharparkar-II seat in southern Sindh province, after defeating 14 candidates.

Malani, the 55-year-old minority community leader, defeated his nearest rival Arab Zakaullah of the Grand Democratic Alliance in the NA-222 constituency.
He secured 37,245 votes while Zakaullah received 18,323 votes, the Express Tribune reported.
Malani, a Pakistani Hindu Rajasthani Pushkarna Brahamin Politician. In 2003, He was nominated to the Pak Parliament by the PPP on a reserved seat. In 2013, He became the first non-Muslim Member of the Provincial Assembly by winning the Tharparkar-III General Seat if the Singh Assembly.

In 2002, Army General-turned-President Pervez Musharraf made amendments in the Constitution to grant Non-Muslims right to vote and allowing contesting on general seats of the parliament. Women and Non-Muslims in Pakistan can be a public representative in two routes – i) Contesting elections on any of the 272 general seats and winning. ii) Getting nominated by any of the Parties which have representation in the National Assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here