HD Kumaraswamy takes oath as Karnataka CM.


Bangalore : H.D. Kumaraswamy of Janata Dal (Secular) was sworn-in as the 24th chief minister of Karnataka on Wednesday, marking the beginning of the JD(S)-Congress alliance in the state.
Meanwhile, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) President G. Parameshwara took oath as the state’s Deputy Chief Minister.Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath to Kumaraswamy and Parameshwara at a gala ceremony held outside the the Vidhana Soudha, the state assembly.

HD Kumaraswamy’s oath ceremony is attended by with several leaders including Congress’ Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav among many others sharing the stage.
Rashtriya Janata Dal leader and son of former Bihar chief minister Lalu Prasad, Tejaswi Yadav, Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan and his Andhra Pradesh counterpart N. Chandrababu Naidu were also attended to cermony.
Heavy rain lashes across Bengaluru ahead of the oath ceremony. People try to get under covers at Bengaluru’s iconic Vidhan Soudha.

The BJP emerged as the single largest party with 104 seats, only eight seats short of the simple majority mark of 112.On the other hand, the Congress party with 78 seats and JD(S) with 37 seats, along with two independent candidates, stitched up a post-poll alliance with a total of 117 MLAs.
On May 18, the Supreme Court, on the plea of the Congress and JD(S), shifted the floor test to May 19. Unable to garner the required number by the deadline, Yeddyurappa stepped down from the post of chief minister before the floor test could be conducted.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here